When thinking of what to make for my dear friend, Heather, for her baby shower, I wanted to make it special.  As I perused blogs and crafty things, I came across some projects on homemade by jill (oh, how I am in love with this blog) that were just begging to happen.

This is where it began: the burp cloths.  How cute are they?  Flannel, soft, fringy… perfect.

Then there was the changing pad.  I will admit that it was a bit daunting.  There’s the iron-on vinyl, the bias tape and my nemesis: the zig-zag stitch.  All in all, it turned out okay, but I’d welcome another go at it.

And finally, the tote bag.

The original plan was to make it out of tea towels, but I didn’t come across any that were appropriate.  When I was in JoAnn Fabrics, (in the middle of a snowstorm with time to kill), however, I came across the coordinating fabrics that I ended up using and decided to go out on a limb and improvise.  Since I used basic cotton fabric, I decided to use a double layer of fusible fleece to give it a little heft.  Of all of the items, I am in love with this one the most.  I have a thing for bags, and really, burp cloths and changing pads are getting out of fashion here.  It is a nice, big bag.

Here’s a picture of the whole set:

Hooray for babies!  I hope little Evelyn likes it.

