… a lemon tote!  I LOVE my current tote bag.  It is a good size to hold the necessities; one diaper and a few wipes, two sippy cups, a toy or two for distracting grumpy taggers-along, wallet, phone, etc.  Not too much, not too little.  It also has a daisy on it, which I find difficult to argue with.  But it is black and I am feeling summery.  My summery-ness was longing for a brighter bag and since I know how to make my own now, the world was wide open.  Once again, I have turned to the trusty spring tote tutorial at homemade by jill (I want to be like Jill when I grow up.  Great sense of style and effortless, appealing talent).  My ideal fabric for the project would have been lemons and limes (yellow is my favorite color and I have a thing for limes), but when I saw this fabric, it stole my heart.

Something about it calls to be in a kitchen with avocado green appliances, doesn’t it?  Just enough retro appeal, but not too much.

As a bag, I think it is charming.  And absolutely summery.

And I am dying over these pockets… if I do say so myself.  It’s as if they were taken from a 1950’s apron, isn’t it?  The ric-rac was added to help them stand out as I am digging around for something.

My only concern about the bag is that the belting I chose for the straps may be too wimpy.  I liked the chevron pattern and that it was pure white (probably not a great choice in the long run, but oh well).  What I did not think of was the heft of it.  Live and learn… again.

Happy Mother’s Day to me and hooray for my finally making something for myself!  I love sewing for my kids and friends, but it feels good to be able to keep one of my creations!

