My new favorite thing is to cruise the remnant bin when I visit the fabric store.  Remember this remnant I picked up a while back?  I still haven’t found a specific use for it, but I know I will.

Recently, I realized that the window valance in the bathroom was not only super dusty, but not really a good fit with the room.  It was fine with our old shower curtain, but it is way too frilly for the current style of the room.  (I use the term “room” loosely.  Our bathroom is teeny-tiny)  When you have such a small space to work with, I am beginning to realize, it is even more important to try and pull it together a bit.

At nearly the same time it occurred to me that we needed a new valance, it also occurred to me that I could make one.  I looked at the same old calico prints I usually use, but they didn’t seem quite right.  Today, however, on a trip to stock up on some Tutti Frutti prints for some special little girls in my life, I found the perfect remnant.  The colors were exactly what I needed and the price was right — $4.00.  Sweet.

The valance is almost done.  After I put it up, I realized it needed a little something and I don’t trust myself to finish it this late in the day.  So tomorrow I finish it and I will post a picture.

Remnants rock!

