I have always loved thrift stores.  Thing is, I forget that I love them until someone reminds me.  This time, the someone was Dana from Made.  She recently posted about some super finds at her thrift store and I remembered all of those stores I keep passing thinking, “Someday when the kids aren’t with me…”  Well, you know how that goes.  As luck would have it, however, I had an unexpected day off of work today.  The beauty of it — I didn’t know I would have the day off until the sitter was already at our house.  Do you feel the excitement buzzing through the computer screen?  (It’s partly caffeine from Trader Joe’s Mango Black Tea … yummy iced tea… thanks, Beth!)  I digress.  Can you just imagine?  I was just out there, in the world, all by myself!  Now it still took me about an hour to remember the thrift stores, but I am sometimes slow that way.

I started small.  Just one store.  I carefully chose my items, took them to the counter and learned that the entire store was 1/2 off today!  Good thing I didn’t know that when I walked in.  Here are my purchases:

The first is a queen-size flat sheet.  The print makes me smile.  It is soft and worn and feminine.  My plan is to make it into a skirt for myself.

The second is a full-size fitted sheet.  I am not going to divulge its purpose.  Top secret.

And this short-sleeved seersucker men’s shirt will become shorts for Benjamin.

So my list of projects is getting longer and longer.  I am thrilled at the idea of being able to experiment with patterns and have plans to tie together the decorating scheme of my home (such as it is… I am no interior designer, that’s for sure) by making things myself.  Things that I love and make me happy.  Yeah!

