While I am currently lacking in inspiration to sew, I am rarely lacking in inspiration to make yummy things to eat.  Very rarely.  It can be a problem.

The other night, we had my parents and youngest brother over for dinner.  We decided to eat outside and keep it simple and do picnic food.  With Labor Day weekend right around the corner I thought I would share a couple of our favorite recipes with you.

The first is for potato salad.  It may not sound all that exciting, but I am pretty picky when it comes to this dish.  Undercooked potatoes, too much crunchy stuff or slimy sauce really turn me off.  When I found this recipe in Cooking Light a few years back, I was thrilled.  It is simple and unique, and uses Yukon Gold potatoes, which are by far my favorite (of course my grocery store did not have them this time, though).   In fact, this now has the distinction of being the only potato salad my 3-year-old will eat.  While I was trying to find a way to take an attractive/non lumpy-looking picture of potato salad, Ella asked for a bite.  I skeptically offered her one and before I knew it, she had eaten half of the plate.  It was our last plate… hence no cool picture… just this topsy-turvy one I had already taken.

Yukon Gold Potato Salad

2 lbs.     Yukon Gold Potaoes, cut into 1″ pieces and cooked until fork-tender

1/2c.      light mayonnaise

2T          white wine vinegar

1T          dijon mustard

1/2t       salt

1/4t        freshly ground black pepper

1/4t       dried tarragon (the white wine vinegar I found already had tarragon in it, so I omit this part)

1/4t       thinly sliced green onion

2T          chopped flat-leaf parsley

(I added 4 hard boiled eggs this time, per my husband’s request.  It worked well… I just did multiplied the “sauce” parts of the recipe by 1.5 to cover the additional mass of the eggs)

While potatoes are cooking, mix mayonnaise and next 5 ingredients.  Once potatoes are cooked and drained, add them to the mayonnaise mixture and toss gently until coated.  Add green onion and parsley and mix gently.  Cover and chill.

*      *      *

Now on to dessert.  You didn’t think I would let you down, did you?  Today, I am sharing “my” recipe for Blueberry Cobbler.  This dessert is a family favorite and I remember eating it as a kid.  It can be made with any fruit (peaches would probably be wonderful), but I usually stick to blueberries.  This dessert is always served warm with a healthy portion of vanilla ice cream at our house.  Always.  And it never lasts long.  I didn’t photograph it with ice cream because, well, then I would have eaten it, and I was trying to be good.

Try it… you will be happy.

Blueberry Cobbler (originally from Southern Living)

1c        flour

1c        sugar

1/4t    salt

2t        baking powder

3/4c   milk

1 stick butter, melted

2 1/2c  blueberries  (if you choose to use another fruit, you may need to add sugar to sweeten it)

Mix dry ingredients in a baking dish (I like to use and 8X8).  Stir in milk.  Pour butter over top.  Add blueberries (do not stir again).

Bake 45 minutes at 350 degrees (it takes closer to an hour in the 8X8 pan) or until top is golden and the batter has risen to the top.

Happy picnicking!


