Remember this potential mess?  The challenge was to make a palatable creation for Ella’s first year of preschool.  Well, it is done!

I am really quite pleased with how it turned out.  The bird applique is a touch off center, but for some reason, I think it works.  It is a small price to pay for the fact that I made it up as I went along.

My biggest success was talking Ella out of that crazy blue webbing that she had chosen for straps.  I took a moment before putting the denim strap on just to see how it would have looked.  Eek.  She will thank me one day.

I love the strap with the pink top stitching.  I love the ric-rac at the top of the bag. Ella LOVES the pink cat (inspired by a wall sticker in her room) and made sure (several times) that the blue material was included on the inside (“It’s like a big surprise!”).  Apparently, she was keenly aware of the fact that I was hoping to modify a few things.  *ahem*

The appliques took a while, not because they were difficult, but because I like to hand stitch an outline on each one.

Even though there are a few things that I am not fully happy with (for example, it is HUGE… oops), overall, I think it turned out well.  The best part is the big smile on Ella’s face when I showed it to her.  “Momma, it’s beautiful!”  Nothing better than that.

