When I showed my husband the snack bags from my previous post, he issued me a new challenge.  He said that he noticed a little trash bag in his brother’s minivan that was attached to the seat belt anchor and that he would like something like that for our van.  The idea is to corral all of the various things (receipts, wipes, goldfish crackers, etc) that end up everywhere in the van, no matter how hard we try to keep it from happening.  Then he added, “I don’t know.  Maybe it would just be easier to buy one”.  Excuse me? Easier to buy one?  Those are fighting words, my dear.  Challenge accepted.  It’s on.

Okay, maybe it’s not that dramatic, but really, how hard could this be?  I have never seen this seatbelt bag thingy, so I just thought about what I would like to have.  Something unobtrusive, functional and easy to deal with.  And I wanted it to tie onto both seats, not just one.

I decided to use the snack bag concept and tweak it a bit.  I could have done a plain fabric bag, but I wanted a bit of a lining to keep things tidier.  This way, I can take it in the house and wipe it down quickly when it is emptied and we’ll be back in business in a matter of seconds.

The distance between our front seats is 12″, which is roughly the size of a gallon ziploc bag.  I cut the top off of one bag and cut the sides as close to the seam as possible and used this one piece of plastic as a pattern for my fabric.  I then sewed the two pieces together the same way as in the snack bag tutorial.  Before sewing the sides together, I added straps that I had made so that they would catch in the seam.  Each one is about 3/4″ wide and 12″ long.

Super simple.  I constructed the whole thing while I was watching the kids play in the basement before bathtime.  It took me about 15 minutes, including time to re-direct my one-year-old away from the stairs several times.  ( :

It fits perfectly in the space for which it was intended.

The straps are tied loosely right now, and can easily be secured in knots or bows.

And look…. there were a few things here and there on the floor that were just waiting for a place to call home.

This was a very satisfying little project.  Now to organize that console.  Yikes.

