Just in case the previous soup is not enough creamy goodness for you, I have another one coming at you today.  There are few things that our family loves more than Broccoli Cheese Soup (except, maybe, for these brownies).  Even the kids love it.  Does that speak volumes or what?  In fact, for her “special lunch” after the first day of preschool, Ella chose to have Panera’s Broccoli Cheese Soup.  I bought the huge “soup for a group” size… supposedly enough for 3-4 adults, and my kids demolished it.  Barely a cup left for Mom.

Ella, the expert on such things, finds my soup to be equal to Panera’s.  That is a high honor from an opinionated child. ( ;

So here it is… the directions are a bit loose, which tells me it is an Aunt Terry recipe.  She is a superb cook and, as it is with such cooks, the recipe comes from the heart more than from the page.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

1             large potato, peeled and grated

2 c         broccoli, cut fine

2            carrots, grated

4 cubes chicken boullion

1             small chopped onion

(I like to throw in cauliflower as well… as much as seems right)

*Put all ingredients in a large pan with 3 cups of water and cook until the vegetables are done.  (I usually end up adding a bit more water to make sure the veggies have enough room to move a bit and not get scorched)

1/2 c      butter

1/2 c      flour

1/2 t       salt

4c           whipping cream (*gasp* again… this is way too rich for me, so I end up cutting it a bit with half-and-half or milk, depending on my current guilt level/what I have on hand)

1/2 lb.    Velveeta, cubed

(Here’s where the directions get really sketchy… they say to add everything together but the cheese and cook until thick.  Let me change that…)

* Melt butter over med-high heat and stir in flour to make a roux.  Once flour is cooked and reaches desired color, add salt and whipping cream and cook until thickened.  Add Velveeta and stir until melted.  Add vegetable mixture, stir until well incorporated and simmer a few minutes more.  Serve immediately, or cool and package to freeze.

Mmmmm… I can’t wait for dinner tonight!  I meant to double the recipe for this batch, but think I almost quadrupled it due to over-cutting of broccoli and cauliflower.  Oops.  It will all work out (once I purchase more cheese) because I will be putting most of it in the freezer for dinners this fall.  We love to pair it with breadsticks for a quick meal.

