Thanksgiving is fast approaching.  If you are in need of a quick little project to keep the kids busy, hand out to little ones on Thanksgiving Day, or even use as table decorations, try making a little gang of felt turkey finger puppets.

 

Isn’t he cute?  I whipped up a few from scrap felt in no time (we gave a couple away and I couldn’t find the other one we have left for the picture).

The idea came from Skip to My Lou, always a great place for kids crafts.

Since I don’t have pinking shears, I used a zig-zag stitch for a hint of interest.  I also think it would be cute to embellish the feathers a bit with some stitching.  This will, however, be saved for a day when they last a little longer in our house.  We have already had a feather casualty, after which I heard my son say, “Uh-oh… turkey!” as he mourned the birds loss.    The lost feather was probably from the turkey I made with Tacky Glue.  A glue gun is much more effective.

I also didn’t have googly eyes (bummer), so I used felt for the eyes.  This is probably the only reason our turkeys still have eyes.  Googly eyes are way too fun to pick off.  “Uh-oh… turkey!” again, I am certain.

Happy Thanksgiving!

