‘Tis the season to say thank-you and give gifts to co-workers, teachers and others who are special to us.  This is not always an easy thing for me, especially when it comes to the front office staff at work.  They do a lot for me all year and yet I do not spend a lot of time with them, so I do not know much about individual likes and dislikes.  I also do not have a ton to spend, but want to give a thoughtful and creative gift.

This year, I decided on a snowman theme.  Each of the women will be welcomed on Monday morning with one of these little gifts, waiting at their desk.

 

Each gift contains a felt snowman bag from Target (I could have made them, but the Dollar Spot made it easy on me), a snowman decoration, two snowflake ornaments, a mini box of truffles decorated as a snowman and some homemade Russian Tea Cake cookies (meant to symbolize snowballs).

The snowman decoration is a child’s white crew sock, stuffed with rice.  Ella helped me pour the rice in (and maybe all over the floor, too, but she really did a great job).  I tied the sections off with white yarn and decorated with puffy paint and felt.  I received a sock snowman once, made from a tube sock and thought it was so cute!  I couldn’t find the old style tube socks, so I improvised a bit.

The snowflake ornaments are from Target, as are the truffles.  To decorate the truffles, I used an idea from this month’s Martha Stewart Magazine.  It was too cute to resist!  I wrapped each box in white paper and had the kids help me with the fingerprint faces.  The scarf is some chenille yarn that I had from another project.

 

The cookies are so yummy.  My Mom has made them forever and I used an All Recipes version, which tastes just like hers.

I think the gifts turned out really cute and hope that the ladies in the office are pleasantly surprised on Monday morning!

Here is the cookie recipe:

Russian Tea Cakes (adapted from allrecipes.com)

1 c.          butter

1 t.           vanilla extract

6 T.         confectioner’s sugar

2 c.          flour

1 c.           chopped walnuts

1/3 c.      confectioner’s sugar for decoration

*Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

*In a medium bowl, cream butter and vanilla until smooth.  Combine confectioner’s sugar and flour; stir into butter mixture until just blended.  Mix in chopped walnuts.

*Roll dough into 1″ balls (dough will be crumbly, you will need to squeeze it a bit to make it stick), and place on a cookie sheet.  Bake 12 minutes.

* When cookies have cooled but are still warm, roll in confectioner’s sugar to coat.

