Thanksgiving may be over, but that doesn’t mean cranberries need to be left behind until next year.  I love cranberries and think that they make a wonderful addition to Christmas tables as well.

My mom made this coffee cake when I was a kid and my husband and I have had it for every Thanksgiving breakfast since we have been married.  I took one to work once and received glowing reviews and once made it for my husband to take to school and one of his colleagues ate half of it all by himself.

I do not know where this recipe originated… as usual.  What I can tell you is that it is really, really good.

 

Cranberry Coffee Cake

Cake:

1/4 lb.      butter

1 c.            sugar

2                eggs

1 t.             baking soda

2 c.            flour

1/2 t           salt

1 c.             sour cream

1 t.              vanilla

1 can         whole cranberry sauce (I actually use about 1 1/2 cans, but I really like cranberries!)

1/2 c.         chopped walnuts

Sauce:

3/4 c.        confectioner’s sugar

1 T.             water

1/2 t.          almond extract

* Cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs one at a time and mix until incorporated.  In a separate bowl, mix dry ingredients.  Alternate adding dry ingredients and sour cream to the butter mixture.  Add vanilla and nuts.

*Pour into a greased 8″ or 9″ tube pan (I use a Bundt pan), layering 1/2 cake mixture, then cranberry sauce, then the rest of the cake mixture.

*Bake at 350 degrees for 55 minutes.

*Cool 5-10 minutes, loosen with a knife and remove from pan and let cool.  Mix sauce and drizzle over the top prior to serving.

