My brother and his family were in town for Thanksgiving weekend.  He has a three-year-old daughter, too, and when the girls are together, I really like to do a craft or two with them.  This time, my Dad decided it was Grandpa’s turn and organized a craft for the girls.

Now… the craft went well, but my original plan was to do it once again, and make some adjustments and take more pictures.  That is probably not going to happen, so I am going to go ahead and post.

To make your own Reindeer Oreos, you will need:

Oreo Double Stuff cookies

Red Hots

Mini Pretzel Twists

chocolate chips

Crisco

white frosting

Start off by melting the chocolate chips (we transferred it to a bowl for the girls), then dip the cookies into the chocolate,

 

attach the pretzels and put on a nose,

 

then use some frosting to make some eyes (the frosting is by Wilton… it is not a bottle of glue!).

 

The chocolate chips on their own are a bit too thick, so we added a tablespoon or so of Crisco to smooth it out a bit.  We also used regular Oreos, which made it difficult to attach the pretzels.  The girls may not have been able to get them in between the chocolate layers on the cookies anyway, but if I get to do this again, I will use the Double Stuff Oreos.  I would also grab some mini chocolate chips to finish the eyes.

Here are some of the finished products.  Most of them were done by the girls and they are super shiny because they had not set.  We had to go home before they were done. ) :   My Brother jumped in and decorated a few… like the one with spikey “hair” and the one with wrap-around glasses on.

 

This was a really fun craft for the kids.  It allowed them to be creative and did not require too many steps.  My niece bowed out pretty early, but Ella is very into crafting and stuck with it until the very end.  If you try this, I hope that you have as much fun as we did!

