I thought I would try and play a little catch up.  We’re going way back to Christmas but hey, it’s never too early to start planning for next year, right?

Christmas was overall pretty craft-free this time around.  We were still in full adjustment mode and there wasn’t a whole lot of time to sit around and make things.  The three things I did make took forever because I couldn’t just sit down and finish like I used to.  But they were worth it and I love them.

First is my yarn-wrapped Santa wreath.  I saw a similar one from this blog on Pinterest and thought it would be a nice change for our forest green front door.  Traditional wreaths don’t really show up.  Besides, I was going for a more kid-friendly vibe with colored lights outside and fun touches where I could.  I came up with the idea of adding the Rudolph wreath and attached them using part of a jingle bell garland that I originally wanted to use to decorate the living room or Christmas tree.  Maybe next year.

The other major crafty thing was a Rapunzel wig for Ella, made from this tutorial.  It was the only thing she asked for for Christmas, so I had to deliver.  I think I finished it two days early. Whew!  This is not the best picture of it, but it will do.  It really did turn out cute.  I ended up sing a boucle yarn instead of eyelash and liked the substitution.  The only downside with the wig in general is that she has trouble getting it on herself.

 

It wouldn’t be Christmas without homemade treats. This year, I made this Santa Party Mix by Cookies and Cups.

I didn’t take a picture of it so I borrowed the one from the site because verbal description simply does not do it justice.  It is THE cutest ever.  The little Santa hats are so whimsical and fun to make.   I packaged it up in little windowed boxes from Hobby Lobby and made sure that the recipients could see a couple of the hats and some of the M&M’s through the window.  Super cute and it was really yummy, too.  Just the right mix of salty and sweet.  I wasn’t sure about the cranberries, but they were a perfect addition.  Festive and just a hint of chewy tartness.

And really… it IS almost time to start crafting for next Christmas.  Yikes!